Lightning Can Strike Twice

LightingCanStrikeTwice

Two angry women in one room, it’s not pretty.

 

“What is this all about?” asking Mr. X, the teacher Kylie told us about. One look and I could see that this man didn’t think for one second what he told my daughter was wrong.

Mr. Divine focused on him and started to question in a calm, clear voice. “Did my daughter report an incident or incidents regarding harassed and assaulted by this young man to you?”

“Assault. I don’t know what you are talking about? He was probably just playing around with her and got a bit too rough.”

Mr. Divine just looking at the man with a question all over his face.

“Probably. So you don’t have a real clue what happen but you proceed to tell my daughter that it was nothing and the boy just liked her and she should probably stop ignoring him.”

“This is no big deal. The young man was just being a typical boy.”

I was livid and jumping out of my seat. “Are you out of your mind?”

“No darling. Please let me handle this.” I looked at Mr. Divine and saw the look he gave me was similar to the one he had just before he knocked my ex-husband unconscious and left him on the ground front yard.

With a laugh, I sat down. Again the principal started to fidget while he questioned the teacher. “Mr. X  you are not sure about the details of the incident but that is what you told the young lady?”

“These kids always playing around. Who can keep track.”

“None of us girls play around with him,” said Kylie. “He is always hitting us and trying to grab us. We tell him to stop but he never does. We make sure we keep the younger girls away from him. I came to you because you are his form teacher but you did nothing and made it seem like it was alright. That I should let him touch me whenever and where ever on my body he wants. I don’t like him. Why should I let him touch me?”

“He was playing around,” said Mr. X. “What is the big deal.”

“So when he pins a girl in a corner and tries to touch her while she is screaming no and he is laughing like it a joke that’s okay. No, that is one step from attempted rape.”

And folks there it was. My daughter had said it and there was no taking it back.

Leave a Reply

