Before the Storm

BeforeTheStorm

My anger was a building thunderstorm.

A frighteningly calm Mr. Divine went to school with me the next day. We entered the office and asked for a meeting with the head. The plan was to see the attitude and the reaction but Mr. Divine had no intention of letting this matter be swept under the rug. Our lawyer had already been called and out on notice about the situation. This incident couldn’t be allowed to happen again.

The secretary tried to insist that Kylie go to her class or she would be marked late or absent but Mr. Divine said no. Late was a small matter in his eyes compared to this situation. It took another forty-five minutes before the principle came, during which time the secretary tried to find out what was the issue. All she got was a whole lot of nothing.

The principal took one look at Mr. Divine’s unsmiling face and lead us into his office. My daughter sat down and told her story and I watched Mr. Divine watching the man’s face. Another thing  I also noted was that he had his phone in his hand, which was unusual for him. By the time my daughter was done telling the story I could see the principle starting to fidget.

“I will need to speak to the teacher and the student and see what they have to say,” he said.

“Go right ahead,” said Mr. Divine. “I canceled all my meeting for today and my wife took the day off. I will have this matter dealt with by the end of the day or the police and my lawyer will be expecting my call.”

The principle’s eyes went wide. He got up and went to the secretary that has been asking questions. Our guess is that he asked her to get the boy and the teacher who was at the center of the incident. About thirty minutes went by and the teacher and the boy came into the office. I looked at Mr. Divine and had to put my hand on his arm to calm his down. It was about to really begin.

Leave a Reply

