No You Didn’t

NoYouDidNot

Like most mothers, I’m very protective of my children but I’ve also learnt how to let them go so they can be independent and learn how to become their own person. It’s not easy, but I’ve come to realize that the clinging and hovering often resulted in frustrated, angry and rebellious children. Observation allowed me to learn how to adjust accordingly over the past few years. That being said, let get to the real problem.

My daughter Kylie came home and I noted that she was more distant and quieter than usual. I looked at her, trying to figure out the type of quite I was dealing with. Was it a ‘that topic in class was so difficult’ or ‘a why is that person giving me a difficult time’ quiet. For some reason I wasn’t getting the clues I was used to with this situation and it was worrying me.

Mr. Divine was back from his trip and was taking us out to dinner. At dinner, he nudged me when he noticed how quiet she was. The kids were always eager to find out about his trips but it was like Kylie wasn’t even there. We decided to take a long walk along the boardwalk after dinner and as Shane wondered off to get pictures of the sunset we asked her what was the matter.

As she explained the situation I could see the vain in Mr. Divine’s head starting to rise up and throb. With my Kylie’s every word, he was getting angrier. “We’ll be going to the school tomorrow because nothing about what you just told us is right.”

“But the teacher said that is just the way boys behave.”

“No, it’s not. Decent boys don’t do that. Decent teachers don’t allow them to get away with it if you complain about it. Then even worst, try to make it your fault.

While Mr. Divine was angry I was livid. The whole situation reminded me of the entitled attitude my ex Walter often exhibited. I wasn’t standing for it. It would seem that a boy at school had started teasing Kylie, calling her rude names and being generally annoying. She chose to ignore him and in reaction, he choose to escalate the situation by pushing, pinching and basically trying to grope my daughter whenever he saw her. Frustrated she went to the teacher to try to address the situation but it was dismissed with the statement “boys will be boys” and that the boy wanted her to be his girlfriend….and it was probably her fault for ignoring him.

Oh hell no.

Leave a Reply

