Christmas Past

christmaspast

Some of the Christmas decorations that were to be seen as we drove out and about.

 

This is the last of my catch-up post and from now on things will be about what is going on right now, as well as short and sweet.

When Christmas came last year, things were a buzz of excitement in my house. I’m used to the kids being excited for this time of year, but this time it was like they were almost jumping out of their skin for the season to come. They were so eager they started to get the house ready even before I asked. In fact, they were asking me, and by the 3rd of December they had the house decorated on the outside and were urging me to get a live Christmas tree so they could decorate it. I got it and by the next weekend we had the tree up.

Mr. Divine has been traveling for the past three weeks and he came home the same time as the tree was going up. He dropped everything and helped us and we ended up having an amazing time putting that tree together. When we were done, we got out a tub of ice cream and enjoyed the lights as they flickered against the walls. It was the perfect way to end our night.

With Mr. Divine here, several events were added to our Christmas social calendar. It was interesting, the huge difference in the types of social experiences my children and I now encountered because of being his wife. I have done more socializing with him in the last year than I did in my pass marriage of just over eighteen years. It was an uplifting experience. We also went to my mother’s house and had the most amazing time. When she had first met Mr. Divine, she took him aside and had a long talk. It seems she decided to give him a top-up on the previous talk for Christmas. From whatever he said to her she was content and came back to us with a huge smile on her face.

We had a wild family-filled and social Christmas last year and from what I understand they have already started planning what we are going to do for Easter this year. I can hardly wait.  To me, this is what life is supposed to be about, family, love and happiness.

Leave a Reply

