Settling In

settling-in

Things are slowly falling into place.

 

I’m back from my honeymoon but I might as well not be. The buzz is in full control and I’m walking around like I’m a permanent resident of cloud 9. The kids are happy we are back and eager to hear where we went and what we got up to. We gave them an edited version of our trip and they were overjoyed that we got to see so many places in a short timespan.

Now we are back home, we only have two weeks before we plan to leave for a trip as a family. Part of the trip is for us to see Mr. Divine’s house as well as taking Kyle to see some colleges. Then we are going to spend a few days enjoying the theme parks in Florida. It will be a lot of driving and flying but that was going to be all a part of the fun of getting there.

The kids had an amazing time while we were away. They spent their days with friends and family, exploring and relaxing. When we got back home, we had a fun time exchanging stories and sharing pictures. I really had an enjoyable time on that trip. Flying along on the zipline in St. Kitts, jumping off cliff rock and rope swings into breathtaking lagoons of water in more than one beautiful port. Mr. Divine truly indulged mt inner water baby.

Now we are married, Mr. Divine was officially moving into my house. we decided it was easier for one of him to move rather than three of us. We also took into account that the location of my house made it easier for all of us to get to and from work and play easier. The plan was to put his house up for rent with one of the island’s real estate agents that would also maintain and look after the property. If we left the country as a family, that was also the plan air-marked for my house. I have learnt that passive income and making my money work for me is key to building wealth.

I had thought it would be difficult to get used to Mr. Divine always being there, but if I really thought about it, he was by our house more often than not. I had gotten used to more help in the kitchen and around the house. My daughter would smile her little happy smile whenever Mr. Divine did anything sweet and loving, making me know that her opinion of men had not been warped by her father’s horrible, inexcusable actions. My children now had a role model who could help to shape their opinions of right and wrong.

Another thing I noted was that Mr. Divine Didn’t have an excessive amount of clothes and what he did have was high-end of exceptional quality. I questioned him one day to understand the reason for his choices. He explained he discovered when he bought cheaper, for example, shirts. He discovered he had to buy new shirts sooner due to wear and tear. When he bought a little more expensive, they lasted longer. He explained that over time he learned how to buy expensive for less, so now he had the best of both worlds. I was discovering and learning new tricks every day.

When Mr. Divine moved in with us we also decided to do a thorough cleaning of the house. Everything that belonged to Walter that was still in the house we packed in bags and boxes, called the police officers we dealt with in the past, plus our lawyer and his lawyer and made sure the fact I was giving him back what was his, was documented. I even sent him the old lawn mower he bought years ago that stopped working. Any gift he bought me/the house I got rid of too.

In fact, I wanted to get rid of every item of furniture or thing that reminded me of our marriage. It was like some delayed reaction where I just wanted to purge him fully from my life. Mr. Divine and the kids had to calm me down. I had planned of remodeling but they had drifted into the background when other things took a more important place in my life.

“If we are going to renovate then it;s going to have to be well thought out,” said Mr. Divine hugging me close and rubbing my back.

I took a deep breath and tried to calm myself while I considered what Mr. Divine was saying. recently any thought of Walter would just bring the anger boiling up in me and this was no different. In the past, I had gotten to a place where I didn’t even think about Walter or I wasn’t bothered if I heard about him but that had changed because of the recent incidents I’ve had to deal with involving him. I had to work once more at extinguishing him from my life.

“How about we pull out the old ideas we were working on for the house. Have a serious look at them. Look at the other plans we have in play for our lives and make some decisions from there,” I said.

The kids nodded and I relaxed into the couch as they went towards their rooms to plan. The house was just a tiny part of a huge picture and we would look at everything before a decision was made. Sometimes good comes from a supposedly bad situation but it was a matter of finding the good of the situation and working with it. That’s what I’ll do. Re-adjust my attitude and go after what I wanted because that was life.

Leave a Reply

