The Big Day

the-big-day

The photographer captured this beautiful memory.

 

It is funny that I’m starting the year playing catch up. Right now I still telling the part of the story of what had happened to me last year, but I want to make sure I’m getting everything down correctly so it is taking time. In truth I don’t mind because I rather get my story out right, than quick. So on to the main event.

When my wedding day dawned, I was fighting with every cell in my body to remain calm. It wasn’t that I was frightened but that I was excited for what’s to come. True I have been married before but I went into that situation with blinders on. No, make that blindfolded,

Anyway. For my special day, I was determined to be chilled and happy so I arranged for a massage that stripped every ounce of tension from my body. I’ve never experienced anything so amazing. It’s a good thing I choose to get that massage in my hotel room so all I had to do was to roll off of the massage table and get into the bed.

When I finally woke up on my wedding day, the sun was shining and it was flawlessly beautiful outside. I turned over almost limp but rested and content. My sister came in and found me chilling on my bed with a stupid, happy smile all over my face.

“Well, there is no need to ask you if you are good. If your smile got any wider your cheeks would split,” said Linda.

With a laugh, I threw off my sheet and got out of bed to be hugging by my sister. It was good to have her here and happy to be a part of my wedding because at the last one everyone was tense and angry.

“This is the right one finally Lindsay,” said my sister. “I’m sorry you had to endure such a horrible marriage for so long but you have found the right guy now.”

Linda hugged me tight before he held away from her by the shoulders before pulling me close and hugging me again. I tried not to think too much about her words, only about the good place I was in. To me, that was all that mattered today.

From then on a flurry of activity began. I got a shower and as my breakfast arrived so did the photographer. Then it was down to business. I got a manicure, pedicure, and mini-massage while the others got their nails and hair done. Then it was my turn and I closed my eyes and floated off to a quiet place as the hairdresser did my hair. I refused to look in the mirror and let everything come together. Hair, nails, make-up and finally the dress that took my breath away in that shop in New York.

I closed my eyes and let the others dress me until finally when everything was in place I turned around and looked into the mirror. I could hardly believe I was seeing my own reflection in front of me. I looked so different. That was when I finally looked around the room and saw my daughter looking like a storybook princess in her dress. It took every ounce of my mental strength not to cry off that makeup.

“Kylie baby you look so beautiful.” She hugged me with a wide smile.

“You too mommy. You look like…I can’t find the words. Amazing is just too simple a word for how good you look.”

“Thank you, Kylie. Thank you for helping me to get this dress. If it wasn’t for you I don’t know what I would be wearing.”

Around us, the photographer was clicking away and I slipped back into my happy daze as the time came for me to make my way to my groom.

The actual ceremony was set to take place on the beach and rather heels I wore a pair of white sandals with glitter and sequins. When I got to the top of the aisle to walk down, the beauty of what was before me took my breath away.

The flowers that were around the arch, along with the cream coloured tulle that flowed in the wind gave the beach a fairy tail atmosphere. I looked down the aisle and in front of that arch was the man I was about to marry, Mr. Divine. Our guest stood as I stepped onto the aisle of rose petals and began to walk towards my man.

When I reached Mr. Divine and slipped my hand into his, everything felt right. On that beautiful beach, I said my vows and joined my life with this amazing man. I have never felt so happy in all my life. Not even when I got married before had it felt so good.

The day was a blur but the key thing I remember was that I was so happy about everything. As we said our vows I had to fight not to cry but several tears escaped. Mr. Divine wiped each of them away and when he kissed me as we were named husband and wife those tears just dried right up. I was starting a new part of my life, with an amazing man, and I could hardly wait.

Leave a Reply

