Off the Rails

off-the-rails

Walter ended up before the judge…again.

There is a bit more to the story about when Walter started getting on stupid when he found out that Mr. Divine had proposed to me. Yes, he was livid when I told him that Walter has called and started berating me about my decision to get married again. The anger shifted to livid when we were at home having a games night with the kids and Walter had the audacity to turn up at my house. On boy. 

We were so engrossed in the game we didn’t even know someone was outside of the house. It was only when a loud banging started to shake the front door that let us know someone was there. Mr. Divine gave me a look and we moved cautiously to the door. The kids went to the small windows next to the door to look outside and my daughter looked back at me wide-eyed.

“I know you are in there Lindsay you bitch. You must be out of your mind if you think you can just leave me and get married. I say what you can do.”

The kids looked at me in confusion. Anger filled my daughter’s face and she moved towards the telephone and started to make a call. A crash of broken glass resounded.

Mr. Divine opened the door to see Walter with a rock in his hand about to throw it through the side window of his jeep. The crash we had heard before was a rock going through the windscreen of the jeep and when Walter saw that the door was open he rushed at us, rock in hand. Walter came at us screaming threats and for once what he said just washed over me. I was more concerned about the danger he potentially posed to all of us.

Walter threw the rock and we all ducked. It broke the window next to the door and I heard a shout of shock. I looked back to make sure the kids were alright but I was also trying to keep an eye on Mr. Divine. I didn’t know what was going on with Walter because as nasty as I had seen him behave, I had never known him to become violent. I watched the rage flowing off of Walter and I shouted for Mr. Divine to be careful.

Then to my shock, Mr. Divine stood there was Walter came at him cursing and yell and took a punch to the face. I cried out in shock but Mr. Divine calmly told me to stay back. What then unfolded was like something out of a movie. Mr. Divine leaped into the air and came down delivering a punch that knocked Walter out cold. When Walter crumpled onto the ground  Mr. Divine turned and walked up to me and pulled me into his arms for a mind sapping kiss. He reached for the kids and hugged them as well.

I was still in Mr. Divine arms when a police car pulled up. One of them moved to Walter who was still unconscious on the ground and the other came cautiously to us.

“Good night, madam, sir. We got a call about a domestic disturbance.  What is going on?”

My daughter came forward and stood in front of us. “I called you. My father just turned up here and started cursing, yelling and breaking things. He threw a rock at us and broke the window and he hit my mother’s fianceé.”

“Young lady let me speak to the adults.”

Mr. Divine turned and looked at the officer and took my hand and started to move towards the house.

“Sir. Madam. What happened here?”

Mr. Divine pointed to Kyle. “The young lady called you. She can tell you what happened. After you take her statement then you can question me. I’m going inside to get some ice and call my lawyer.”

On the ground, Walter finally started to regain consciousness. One of the officers went to him while the other called for an ambulance. A few minutes later the officer came to the door and cleared his throat. The kids looked at Mr. Divine and when he finally acknowledged the officer he pointed to the children.

“Like I said before, take their statement first then we’ll talk.”

The officer still hesitated and Mr. Divine got up. “Since you don’t want to take the kids statement. You can wait until my lawyer gets here. Then you can take everyone’s statement.”

The officer was not pleased by this change of events but that is how thing went from there on. The lawyer came forty-five minutes later and by then the officers had gotten the statement from our neighbors and an irate Walter who the ambulance had dealt with or left. He was now sitting down in the back of the police car waiting.

When the lawyer came, he insisted on talking to us first and we told him what happened. After we were done, he called in the officer.

“So what happened here?”

The lawyer pointed to the kids.

“We were all inside playing  Cashflow. I was winning and we were having fun when suddenly there was a loud banging on the door. Then we heard someone screaming and after we got up and moved towards the door I realized it was my father.”

“He was screaming nasty things about my mother. Nasty things about the fact mom was getting remarried. That was when I went to get the phone to call the police while I watched what was going on through the window.

Before I got back to the window to look out there was a crash. When I got the window mom’s fiancé was standing outside the door. It seems our dad had thrown a rock through the window of his jeep. He has another rock in his hand. When he saw mom’s fiancé at the door he rushed at him and threw the rock. We all ducked and the rock broke the window.” Kyla pointed to the broken window and the rock on the floor.

“He rushed at mom’s fiancé and punched him. Mom’s fiancé punched him back. It knocked him right out. You found him where he fell.”

Has anything like this happened before?”

“There was one incident at my workplace,” I said. “The police was called it was brought to the courts. He has been getting progressively…problematic. We have also been having problems with him and the children. It’s been getting very difficult.”

The officer closed his notebook and tapped the cover with his pen.

“Madam, how long have you left your husband?”

I sat up and looked the officer in the eye. “You need to get it right. He left me. Walked out and left me, us for another woman. Told me he had filed for a divorce. He left me more than two to three years ago. He made me miserable all during my marriage and has been trying to do the same thing since the divorce was made final months ago.”

“Okay madam. We will be taking your ex down to the station and charging him with assault and damage to property.”

“I’m sure we can find a few more things to charge him with,” said the lawyer. “He has become a constant problem for my clients. We will be coming to the station in the morning to give an official statement.”

The officer nodded and the lawyer went with him to the door. When he came back he sat down and discussed our options. Charges had to be laid or Walter would continue to be a problem. I didn’t want things to come to this point but I need to go on with my life.

We ended up at the station and in court the next day. Our lawyer was swinging a heavy bat and when we walked out Walter had been charged and faced possible jail time. The fact that he had an incident before would mean this time he would be going to jail for sure. He also had to stay away from us. Time would reveal the outcome but no matter what my children and I were getting on with our lives.

Leave a Reply

