The Dress

the-dress

I’ve finally found my perfect dress.

I’m not sure if I mentioned it before, but  I’m not really a fan of shopping. My attitude to the concept has improved in the last few years but that was due to me finally learning how to shop for my body type and what looked good on me. Despite that change, when it came to a wedding dress I didn’t even have a clue where to start. A basic search and a look at those bride shows on the television had me nearly overwhelmed by the different types of dresses. It was looking like I would be spending more time than I had expected to find that dress and considering that I only had a few weeks I knew I had to get to it sooner rather than later. I found myself standing in front of the mirror doing a body assessment to try to at least narrow down the type of dress that would best suit me. My daughter looked at me when she saw me just standing there.
“Mom! What are you doing? I came into the room and you didn’t even realize I was in the room.”

I explained my dilemma and my daughters tugged me into the bed, got her laptop and started looking at dress styles. That was when I discovered the difference between a ballgown, an A-line, a mermaid and a sheath styled wedding dress. I had it in my head I would just get a simple dress and that would be it. My daughter was not having that, and she along with my son and Mr. Divine insisted that I have the most amazing dress possible but I wasn’t sure. That was when Kylie started looking for dresses.

Every day I would get several pictures of dresses sent to my phone by my daughter and with each new picture, I became more excited. I started looking for my dress but I couldn’t find anything I liked. My daughter told me when we sat down in the dress shop that frankly none of them were good enough for me. I went home sad that day.

Several days had passed and I was at a loss what to do. When I got home that afternoon, I found the kids in the kitchen cooking with Mr. Divine. It amazing me the way the children were with Mr. Divine, talking to him about everything, laughing. With their father they had basically stayed hidden in their rooms and kept their mouths shut. I liked the way they were behaving now a lot more. My children were building the social skills necessary to become valuable citizens of the society.

When we finally sat down to dinner it ended up being a loud affair full of conversation and laughter. It was over dessert that I saw a ticket to New York slipped in front of me. I picked it up in shock and looked at Mr. Divine, the kids, then back to the ticket. My daughter was nodding in excitement.

“What is this for?”

“For you to go and find the dress that takes your breath away. Kylie insisted that none of the dresses she saw were suitable.”

I could hardly believe it. To be able to go overseas and have a wider range of dresses to choose from was thrilling. It was something I had not even considered. Then I considered choosing the dress on my own and knew I wanted someone to come on this trip with me.

“I can’t do this by myself. I need someone to come with me for a second opinion.”

Mr. Divine smiled. “That is sorted as well. Kylie is coming with you and I expect you to buy the dress that makes you feel like you are the most beautiful woman in the world.”

I knew the look that filled Mr. Divine’s eyes and couldn’t help but smile. To go with the dress I also needed the most, mind-blowing, jaw-dropping lingerie he had ever seen. The thought of it made me feel truly beautiful as well as sexy.

The trip was four days and we visited two of the main bridal stores. At the first shop, I didn’t find what I wanted but the second one took my breath away. The displays were eye-catching and I walked from one to the next captivated. A consultant came and for the next three hours, I looked at dresses.

Nothing was calling to me until I walked past what I am now calling the dress. It was a huge picture against one of the walls on the way to the dressing room and it stopped me in my tracks. I had never seen anything like that and I wanted to try it on.

“That one,” I said pointing to the dress I had seen. “I need to try on that dress.”

My daughter walked up and broke out into a huge smile. “That dress is gorgeous mom. You have to try it. You have to.”

The consultant smiled. “I’ll go get you the dress.”

I didn’t even bother to try on the other dress that has been placed in the fitting room for me. I just waited until the one that caught my full attention was brought in. When I stepped into that dress it was like everything had stopped and when the zip was slid into place it started again. This was my dress and I wanted it.

Tentatively I picked up the price tag and my smile got wider. I could afford this dress. It was like the stars were in place just for me and I walked out of that store with the perfect dress. I could hardly wait for my wedding day to walk down the aisle to Mr. Divine. 

Leave a Reply

