The Reaction

When a Man wants More 1

The ring is now finally staying on my finger.

So I have officially said ‘Yes’ to Mr. Divine and we are in continued discussion about what I will…make that ‘we’ will do next. With the kids in mind, we have decided it would be best to get married during July then take the rest of the summer to relax and settle down as a family. The thing is there is still Walter in the background who might want to cause us problems. We are keeping it in mind that if we try to move he could decide to kick up a fuss and cause trouble, but after the way the judge dealt with him regarding the children, he may take that as a cue to leave well enough alone.

I have finally put on my ring, well make that Mr. Divine has made sure that it was no longer hidden away on my necklace. After we had that talk on the beach, he told me it was time to put my ring on my finger and let it stay there. When I went to work the next week I tried to act natural, but of all the people who spotted my ring first, it was Walter’s side bit now girlfriend. Her jaw dropped when she saw my ring, unable to believe I was making a commitment again. Like I said Mr. Divine had slipped on a ‘she-is-mine-so-back-off sized rock onto my finger. I looked her dead in the eyes, daring her to say anything.

Her mouth opened and closed like a fish trying to get air then she cleared her throat.

“You were asked to come to the office,” she said.

I continued to look at her and she backed away. Since I had left Walter my confidence had grown and I stood up for myself more. I had gotten past the norm I use to operate under when I was married to Walter.  No more allowing people to push me around and manipulate me. Confidence looked and felt good on me and I intended to keep it.

As the day progressed, others spotted the ring and commented about it. I smiled and said thank you but kept my business to myself. When I went to my boss earlier, he congratulated me. It seems Mr. Divine had told him about our general plan, so he wanted to remind me to keep my options opened when it came to my job. We talked back and forth for a while and when I went back to my desk I felt good about my job and what I could and couldn’t do.

No sooner than I sat down to my desk, my phone started to ring. It was an internal transfer so I picked up expecting a business call or a colleague after I gave my greeting. I couldn’t have been more wrong. It was Walter.

“You could hardly wait to divorce me but now you’ve got a big ring on your finger. Do you really think he wants you? You’re nothing but a cold, sexless prude.

Taking a deep breath I gave him the answer he needed.

“I’m sorry sir but you have the wrong number.” I transferred him to his woman’s extension and waited for the blowup. Two seconds laterI heard it.

“Who the hell do you think you’re talking to?” she yelled into the phone.

I nearly  fell out of my chair trying not to laugh. I took up my phone and called Mr. Divine and in a whispered conversation told him what had happened. I could hear that he was fuming but I calmed him. When I saw him we would talk and see what we would do next but for now back to work. I would deal with Walter later.

Leave a Reply

