The Talk

The Talk

“I love you with every breath I take and just the of being with you fills me with joy.”

After taking a few deep breaths, make that a lot of deep breaths, I have finally called Mr. Divine and told him I need to talk. Always attentive, he took note of my  tone of voice and arranged for us to have an intimate, uninterrupted dinner. He took us to one of my favourite restaurants and as we sat down to eat, I tried to let the rush of the waves sooth me. After dinner, he got the classes, took the bottle of while and lead us to a quiet spot on the beach.

We sat there in silence for several minutes while he played with the ring on my finger. It was a habit he had developed and he did it whenever we were sitting down relaxing.

“I’m frightened,” I said in a rush. Trying to pull my hand away from him, but he held on.

“No, my love.” He pulled me into his arms and cuddle me against his chest. “Talk to me. Tell me what’s on your mind.”

We stayed there and did just that. It was like a dam had been broken and I told him everything. The fact that I had been waiting for the next shoe to drop when it came to our relationship, and that I was in no way prepared for that shoe to be a marriage proposal.

“I never expected us to get so far. When I sit done in the quiet of the night, all I think is that I’m damaged. I had to be to say in the relationship I was in with Walter for so long.”

“You aren’t damaged,” growled Mr. Divine. He twined his hands in my hair and pulled me closer. “You need to wipe those insane thoughts from your mind. That man you married to was a practised liar and manipulator. To him, it was like breathing and he used his twisted talent on you every single day. You love him and were convinced he loved you, so you believed his every word. The problems in your marriage were because of him. You have survived and moved forward despite him.”

“Why do you want to marry me?”

“Why wouldn’t I want to be with you? A breathtaking, beautiful woman, who is strong and loving, with a heart that is overflowing with kindness.”

I fell into the intensity of his eyes when he tilted my head back. “I love you with every breath I take and just the idea of being with you fills me with joy. That is why I want to marry you because I love you. You Lindsay, forever you.”

I was crying and I didn’t even know I was. The sweep of this thumb over my damp cheeks, then a slow, deep kiss stripped away the last of that fear that had been trying to control me.

When Mr. Divine lifted his head, his eyes captured me and I answered him finally.

“Yes. Yes, I will marry you.”

Leave a Reply

