When A Man Wants More? – Part 1

When a Man wants More 1

I saw a flash of brilliance on my finger.

Well finally Walter is gone. Well as gone as I can make him through the use of a divorce and I have been getting used to coping with things by myself. It has been a significant learning curve but I had no intention of letting myself fail at the task I had been given. This was one time I had no option.

A few months into my separation I encountered an old friend and we ended up talking. The main thing on my mind was, I’m in the middle of a messy divorce and I don’t want him to get the wrong impression about me. It turns out he was not easily put off and he has stood by my side throughout my divorce.

A few readers might be saying classic rebound situation but it was months after I had been separated before I met this man and several more still before it progressed beyond friendship and towards sex. He was a friend and confident first and much longer than he was a lover.

Now I am divorced the thing I have noted is that Mr. Divine is always there or at most a phone call away. This is new to me, as I was always the one calling Walter, but with Mr. Divine it was an even exchange of back and forth. It was starting to become something I could get used to. The thing is I don’t want to become dependant on having him close, then suddenly he wasn’t there anymore. My head was screaming that I should draw the line.

One afternoon I was sitting watching the waves flow back and forth at the beach with Mr. Divine by my side. I was supposed to be relaxing but in truth I was thinking. Thinking about the relationship I was involved in and where I was willing to let it go.

“Where have you gone Lindsay? You’ve seemed far away for the past few days.”

I didn’t want to tell him my fears but Mr. Divine was no fool and he seemed to be able to read my every mood. Right now I’m not sure what to say, so I tell him I have been thinking.

He took my hand and started to play with my fingers after pulling me into his arms. Closing my eyes I let everything simply drift away while I enjoyed the pleasure of his touch.

I must have drifted off because when I came awake the sun was fighting to make its last stand in the evening sky. Sighing I snuggled against him, rubbing my hand up and down his chest. That was when I saw a flash of brilliance on my finger as sun dipped behind the horizon.

Diary of a Recovering Idiot is a work of fiction being written in serial format. It tells Lindsay’s story as she grows stronger and wiser. Lindsay now has to deal with the shock of what she had found on her finger in part two of ‘When A Man Wants More’.

Leave a Reply

