What Now? – Part 1

What Now P1

Happy to be free of Walter and with my new guy Mr. Divine.

I’m back home from my lovely vacation and happy to say that I‘m content. The ink has dried on my papers, and I plan to place them in a special plastic sheet to keep them in perfect condition. What papers you must be thinking? My divorce papers, of course! The sheets of paper that have liberated me from a marriage that pushed me into the status of maid and doormat. When I stepped out of the office into the warm morning sun, I was smiling so broadly my cheeks felt like they were going to split.

It was pure restraint that kept me from jumping up and down on those steps, but I wanted to so much. As I placed my hand on the railing to go down the stairs, I felt a strong hand circle around my waist and tuck me against a muscular body.

“Hello beautiful, it seems like I have been waiting all my life to find a woman like you.”

I knew that voice, and I leaned back against the strong body that held me close. “Hello,” I said and looked into the eyes that I now made a habit of falling into.

“How about I take you for a drink to celebrate your official liberation?”

It was 11am in the morning. How wrong would it be for me to be indulging in alcohol? Then it clicked to me. How many times would I be gaining my liberation from a tyrant? I planned for this to be the first and last time.

“Take me for a drink Mr. Divine.” I saw his eyebrows rise at what I had just called him and laughed in delight.

“Mr. Divine!” he said in shock. “When did you come up with that name?”

I smiled and pulled him down the stairs. “You have always been Mr. Divine since I first saw you. I just made sure that I never slipped up and said it aloud.”

He laughed and took me to his car, opening the door for me in his usual gentlemanly manner. I looked up at him and smiled before sliding against his body. He knew what I wanted, and I got a toe curling lip-lock that put my body on high alert.

“Let’s get you out of here before you get the both of us in trouble.”

I laughed with joy and slid into the passenger seat. To those of you new to my story I will get you up to speed. My husband of eighteen years walked in one Sunday and told me he wanted a divorce. It was the biggest shock of my life but bigger shocks were to come. I discovered my husband had been cheating on me all during our marriage plus he was trying to rob me blind. The revelations kept coming and I got angrier the more I found out. It nearly consumed me but I had to let it go. I had to or I would have been lost.

Step by step I started to plan and change my life and it was exactly what I needed to move forward. This is what allowed me to meet Mr. Divine, an old school friend that has become so much more. Being with him brought problems, but in the end our relationship had brought me to the place where I am now. This helped me to be a happier, more productive person. A woman who knows what she wants and is determined to go after her dreams.

Diary of a Recovering Idiot is a work of fiction being written in serial format. More about what happened the day I got my special piece of paper in part two of “What Now?”

Leave a Reply

