The First Cut is the Deepest

“As the door slammed on life as I knew it, my feet gave out and I ended up a crying heap on the floor.”

My life is falling apart and as a result I have started a blog and I’m pouring out my feelings for all who can read. A bit extreme, but it’s because this is the only way I can wrap my mind around what is happening to me. You see, my fortieth birthday is a week away, but I’m feeling far from festive. How could I? My husband of eighteen years came home about two weeks ago and told me he had filed for divorce.

Not that he was thinking we needed a break or any of that, “it’s me, not you” claptrap. Just, “I’ve filed and I’m leaving you”. Not a drop of blood was anywhere in my body after he said those words. How could there be? He was my all. Walter was my beginning and end, my one and only love. I lived for him. I was convinced I had heard wrong.

It seems, readers, my hearing was just fine. From numb, I went to a wailing banshee. Crying, yelling, and asking him what I had done wrong. What did I need to do to fix it, to make him come back to me? In short, I unwomaned myself to him. Me, Lindsay Haynes, had stooped below my beneath, and he simply laughed in my face. “It’s time to trade up to a newer model,” he said. “I had you for twenty years too long.”….

Read the full story of “Diary of a Recovering Idiot”. Coming Soon to Amazon.

Leave a Reply

